Swedish Foreign Minister Carl Bildt says he is concerned by the situation in Ukraine and the continued political repression of government opponents:

“Just saw Eugenia Tymoshenko together with Gunilla Carlsson [Minister for International Development Cooperation] discussing the worrying situation in Ukraine”

In the same time Yulia Tymoshenko has requested permission from the administration of the Kachanivska prison for a short meeting with Swedish Foreign Minister Carl Bildt, First Deputy Head of Batkivshchyna Oleksandr Turchynov and Arseniy Yatseniuk.
Former Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko also has requested permission from the Kachanivska prison administration to speak with representatives of the media:
“I learned from my counsel on September 11 that a number of domestic and international media want to meet and conduct interviews with me. As noted in the State Penitentiary Service’s press release, any media can conduct an interview with anyone in the prison system if this person gives written consent. I hereby give my written consent for the media to conduct interviews with me”



Lawyer Serhiy Vlasenko released a letter today that was written by Yulia Tymoshenko’s cellmate in the Kachanivska prison, Yulia Abaplova, back in March 2012 about the pressure put on her by prison authorities to discredit the ex-premier of Ukraine: “This document was written on 25 March 2012 by Yulia Apablova herself, and I quote: to protect me and Yulia Tymoshenko”

